Kolour In The Park

DSC_0725 There are a lot of things to consider when dressing for a music festival. There are the practicalities which include, but are not limited to:

  • dance-ability
  • climbing on stages with ease
  • sitting in the dirt without flashing panties
  • the ability to pee in unseemly places
  • the see through factor from sweating too much
  • your top staying on when you flail
  • attaching all things to your body, so you don’t have to carry stuff
  • machine washable clothing, as you will be covered in dirt

…and sometimes even the need to be able to trade your skirt with a boy who wants to try twirling in it. Don’t ask.

And this is only the begging. When it comes to a day (or days) of live music, the practicalities are the easy part. It’s the fashion that can get a little tricky, or even potentially induce one those pre-party “I have nothing to wear” meltdowns.

To begin, let’s all stop being cool for a minute and admit that we want to be the cool kids at the party. Because really, what’s cooler than being cool? ICE COLD. And how do you get there? By spending several hours putting together an outfit that makes you look like you don’t try at all and pretty much look this cool on a daily basis. It’s like that no effort messy bun that involves straightening, curling and then teasing your hair to achieve.

Dressing for a music festival involves going on Pinterest and looking up “festival fashion”, then checking out the Instagram hashtag, then going through previous albums of the event you’re attending, then going through your wardrobe and seeing what you have, then checking out your friends closet for options and then ultimately probably taking a trip to the mall. I have a headache just thinking about it.

Anyways, festival fashion aside, I was fortunate enough to attend Kolour in the Park with Sven Vath this past Saturday. I haven’t been to a party, let alone heard live music in probably about a year, so to say I lost my s*** for about 10 hours would be an understatement. I had a BLAST.

Along with jumping up and down until my Converse were a write-off, I also got to run around with my friend Pop and photograph people’s outfits. It was actually during this time that I really felt the most festival magic. As a blogger, I walk around quite often taking photos of people. I use a not so fancy camera and in no way look professional, so people usually react to me weirdly, ask me what the photos are for and then continue to be skeptical even after I tell them it’s for a blog. All round, it’s a relatively awkward situation.

But then Kolour in the Park happened. I would walk up to people who would smile, ask no questions and then begin dancing or working some super fierce super model poses until I was done taking pictures. They would then continue to laugh and talk to me about the great day they were having. It was within this special Kolour environment that a situation which would have normally made me a bit uncomfortable, actually became more fun than ever and even made me a whole selection of new friends! Hi new friends!!!

I loved this day because I got to bond with happy people over fashion, outside in the sun, eating Mojito iced cream, listening to amazing DJs and at some point taking shots of Patron. What more could we want out of a Saturday? I’m still feeling the happy vibes and it’s Monday!

xE

Tote: Charlie Middleton – Bikini tops (mine & cross back on friends): Boogie & the Beach

Head Chain: TopShop (similar) – Skirt: Zara – Shoes: Converse

Photos by Pop DevahastinDSC_0692DSC_0841DSC_0926DSC_0994DSC_0810DSC_0886DSC_0953 DSC_0904 DSC_0830 DSC_0930 DSC_0914 DSC_0877 DSC_0891 DSC_0959 DSC_0869 DSC_0816 DSC_0862 DSC_0593 DSC_0842 DSC_0806 DSC_0611 DSC_0802 DSC_0659 DSC_0755 DSC_0785 DSC_0747 DSC_0705 DSC_0701 DSC_0664 DSC_0679 DSC_0955 DSC_0951

4 comments

    1. Yes, you must come next time! Kolour is always fun. I will give you a heads up about the next one. We can put on fun outfits and dance our hearts out! Really hope I see you soon. xoxo

Comments rock!

