Elephants Attack

DSC_0667

It took me several trips to Khao Yai to officially get charged at by a wild elephant. It was AWESOME. It was dark and we drove up beside her on the road, I rolled down my window and was half hanging out to get as close a picture as possible. We were about 10 feet away and right as I pushed the button to take the photo, she decided to run at our car. I gotta say, I didn’t know elephants could move so fast, it was like superhuman speed. Not to mention she stuck her trunk straight out in front of her as if she wanted to puncture our truck with it. Our encounter ended with me screaming and Paul flooring the gas as we swerved to the right, as not to actually come into contact with her trunk/weapon and thus escaping to safety. About 400 meters later, we encountered a park ranger who told us this specific herd likes to attack cars. Can you imagine being the size of an elephant and actually feeling as if you were powerful enough to attack gigantic pieces of metal? Now THAT is a boss notion.

I always love going to Khao Yai. This trip was especially awesome as another good friend of mine got to join and I had just finished school. So clearly, lots of celebration was in order. Therefore, a whole lot of champagne was consumed. However, I still managed to make it for a nice run one morning, in which the rice farmers fed me water along the way, as they worked hard in their patties. I contemplated the chances of encountering a tiger, but knew I was just being paranoid.

I also got to practice my picture taking skills by photographing Kate as she did yoga poses everywhere. We plan to make her Instagram page a go to place for yoga inspiration (@phangankate). Although I seriously have no clue how to work my camera, I was quite happy with the outcome.

I hope you like my little Khao Yai travel diary, in which we stayed at the Muthi Maya. I would love to hear what you think of the photos and constructive criticism is much appreciate. Please drop me a comment at the end of the post if you have something to say! DSC_0723 DSC_0541 DSC_0643 DSC_0686 DSC_0491 DSC_0470 DSC_0649 DSC_0569 DSC_0586 DSC_0677 DSC_0620 DSC_0669 DSC_0654 DSC_0496 DSC_0566 DSC_0555 DSC_0543 DSC_0706 DSC_0433

Outfit 1: Top & Skirt: Motif – Glasses: D&G

Outfit 2: Blazer: Laminim – Cardigan: Karen Millen – Jeans: UNIQLO – Watch: TW Steel

4 comments

Comments rock!

