The March of the Pants

DSC_5226

This week I had the opportunity to be @Thailander on Twitter. Thailander is an account that gets passed on to a different individual each week, allowing people to learn about the country as well as search for answers to any questions they may have. Given that Thailander has a following of over 5000 people, I must admit I was quite nervous. Frankly, I get anxiety over a Facebook post to my friends, let alone a Tweet to thousands of strangers. But I committed to do it in hopes that it would increase my confidence and allow me to feel more comfortable with Twitter as a social media platform. After all, if I plan to be any kind of an influencer in fashion, I need to learn to take my own opinions seriously. I figured I should begin with learning to Tweet.

I have now been Thailander for 5 days and I have a few more to go. I have learned a lot from this experience so far. I can genuinely say that my confidence in speaking out to strangers has increased. I also realized that there were a lot of seriously weird people in the world, I now understand that I must simply ignore a lot of them. Not letting people get to me was difficult, but I had my sister beside me to remind me that negativity is not important. I just hope that some people enjoyed my Tweets too!

With that being said, I would like to highlight my favorite Tweet of the week. It happened after I posted a picture wearing the outfit featured in this post. I mentioned that these trousers were from my favorite Thai designer, Vickteerut. I then asked @Thailander‘s followers who their favorite Thai designers were. I received many wonderful replies as well as many not so kind ones. However, my favorite one of all was, “marching band pants”. Just three little words, but it had me laughing and it really got me thinking about fashion and what inspires it. The best part is, they really are marching band pants.

With the marching band pants in mind, I started thinking about two things. The first being just how cool marching bands are. The second being the extent in which uniforms for various activities and occupations have an influence in fashion. By mentally looking through my wardrobe, I know that I have marching band pants, riding inspired boots, a nautical theme blazer, a military style jacket, hooker heels (awkward) and the list goes on and on. Basically, given my current wardrobe, I could be anything I wanted! Those crazy American marching bands that exist in every high school? Yup, I just need the instrument because I’ve already got the pants.

So now I wanna know, by going through your closet, who can you be?

Check out the links at the bottom of the page to shop the great Thai designers I’m wearing in this post!

DSC_5161 DSC_5218 DSC_5208 DSC_5157 DSC_5239 DSC_5164 DSC_5223

Trousers: Vickteerut – Top: Milin – Shoes: Salvatore Ferragamo

Watch: TW Steel – Blazer: Giordano Ladies – Bag: Elizabeeth & James

Photos by: The Equinox Fashion

8 comments

    1. Sorry for the late reply, not sure how I missed this. Anyways, you’re approval means the world given you’re the Twitter queen. Can’t wait to catch up again soon. Thanks so much!

  1. Fashion should always be taken with a wink, I guess.
    I have some 50ies pin-up dresses in my closet that I rarely wear but when I do, I feel like a bit lit Marylin Monroe.
    xxx

    1. Exactly, staying light hearted is what I’m trying to do. Although I love fashion, I shouldn’t take it too seriously. Oooo Marilyn, you’d make a great Marilyn! xoxo take care

  2. It’s always hard to put yourself out there, not everyone is going to like you, but that doesn’t matter because when you find like minded souls the rest fade into insignificance. Don’t let anybody get you down! My wardrobe isn’t so much uniform as it is era’s – i’m pretty much reliving the 50’s, 60’s and 90’s atm!

    1. Good point, all I need to think about are the like minded souls! Thanks for the reminder of what’s important. Feeling good now! Era’s are wonderful, I would love to see some of your pieces. I don’t have an eye for vintage, but I definitely envy people who do! Sounds like you an Sonja (previous comment) have something in common! Hope you’re well xoxo

Comments rock!

