Shopping Mall Wake Up Call

1
One of the many things I love about Bangkok is the diversity. This city can be very “in your face” about a lot of things and the amazing assortment of people is one of them.

When I first arrived in Bangkok I was totally mesmerized by everyone. Each person had something new to teach me, tell me or just some way blow my mind. I was constantly being bombarded with new opinions, cultures, beliefs, religions, foods and I could go on for days. The sad part is that somewhere along the way I completely forgot about this up until the day we took these photos.

I’m not sure when it happened or how it happened, but at some point I got used to being out of my element. I became immune to the beauty of the variety in people. I guess you could say I had become too spoiled by the city.

As a student at an international school, I communicate with people from the broadest of backgrounds on a daily basis which goes beyond the effect of simply living abroad. Although this isn’t something that should be taken for granted, I suppose it’s a possible effect of being awhile in a foreign country.

Now instead of making this a long sad post about how we should live each day to the fullest, I’m simply going to explain to you about the little wake up call I had. It was rather entertaining.

The photos for this post were taken outside Paragon shopping centre. It’s huge, it’s busy and it’s fancy as hell. It’s also a bit of a paradox because although it’s luxurious, the majority of the people there don’t buy anything. It’s mostly a place to congregate in the air-conditioning or visit the random aquarium in the basement. I generally wander awkwardly outside the Hermes, Chanel and Dior dreaming of a time when these brands still stood for tasteful fashion and not just tacky wealth. But maybe I’m just bitter because I want the Chanel classic flap bag. Now I’m getting off topic.

While my friend Vio and I were taking these photos, I was starting to get very uncomfortable. As you all know, this blog is still brand new to me. I haven’t quite gotten used to walking around having my picture taken over and over again in highly public areas. People REALLY like to stare. Just as I was about to reach the tipping point of feeling far to anxious, I decided to stop and stare back. Weird plan, I know.

When I looked around me here were the people looking back:

  1. A woman carrying that Chanel classic flap bag. Sigh.
  2. A family on holiday from somewhere that produces 5 children with freakishly blonde hair.
  3. A same sex couple with matching Comme Des Garcons T-Shirts.
  4. A group of school girls from a Muslim region of Southern Thailand.
  5. An elderly woman sitting in a wheelchair, wearing a sarong, being pushed by a boy who was 3 ft tall. Literally.
  6. A group of really dirty looking backpackers. So Typical.
  7. A man wearing what may have been the perfect wrap dress.
  8. A girl in platforms and a skin tight see through mesh dress. I think she was taking photos for her new job on Soi Cowboy.

I’m not even lying.

I hope you found this assortment of people as amazing as I did. As I looked around I was overcome with the realization of just how much I had been missing. The fact that I was surrounded by all these completely different lives was not only hilarious, but it was a reminder of just how special this city is. It’s moments like that when I remember just how lucky I am to be here.

I’d love to hear what little things wake you up.

Outfit details are at the bottom, like always. But as a note, the sandals and top are from EZRA. They can be purchased through ZALORA, as mentioned in A+ PJ SHOPPING.

734 25

Top: EZRA via ZALORA – Sunglasses: CELINE – Skirt: ZARA  Purse: Kate Spade 

Shoes: EZRA via ZALORA – Jewelry: Pandora, River Island & TopShop

Photos by: Violetta Egorova

11 comments

  1. Im the same, I used to just walk around in awe of the mix of everything here and now its become so normal! Thanx for the wakeup call 😉 Much Love xoxo

  2. its too true. eventually even the utmost unusual becomes familiar when you’re confronted by it everyday. Its too easy to think because we’ve thrown ourselves into the unknown that we’ll never fall into a rut and yet we too forget to look around and get lost in what we feel we don’t have but think we should, rather than seeing what we do have as all we need to get exactly where we ought to be. It’s moments like that when we have to step back and remind ourselves its not that a place has lost its magic but us who’ve forgotten to notice it.

    loving your blog girl, just what I needed as my daily read, a little piece of something familiar with a big slash of something new 😉

    1. VERY well said Sonja! I constantly need to remind myself that things aren’t getting less magical, it’s just my perception of them telling me that. Reminders are good! I like what you said about “forgotten to notice”. I need to remember!!! haha. Anyways, I’m so happy you’re enjoying it and that it can be a positive moment in your day. Thanks for taking the time to comment! I love it!

    1. Haha awesome!! Glad you like it 🙂 I just tried reading your posts, unfortunately I can’t understand your language 😦 Blog looks awesome tho! So you are a blogger in Bangkok?! Cool!

      1. I have a e-shop based in BKK. And I just started to write my blog :). I was looking at your instagram and you look like one happy person! Are you planning to stay in Thailand?

      2. That’s awesome! Is it a fashion shop? I just started writing my blog too, good luck with yours! Maybe we could do something fun together one day! Yes, Thailand definitely makes me happy. I’m not sure if I plan to stay. It really depends on work. I assume you must like it here too if you have a business here.

      3. I hope you will get big with your blog so I can use you for some amazing project!!! 😀 I will use you as my fashion diva. Are you working here? Im in love/hate relationship with Thailand :))).

Comments rock!

