Slightly Obsessed

I’ve never really been into jewelry. Don’t get me wrong, I love to accessorize, but jewelry is typically my last resort for creating that perfect outfit. When it comes to statement accessories, I tend to draw the line at bags and sunglasses. It’s is actually rather boring. I need to loosen up.

Here’s why I am the way I am. Rings are uncomfortable and when my hands sweat it gets even weirder. Necklaces are great if they’re dainty, when they’re big I feel strangled. Bracelets are perfect on the hand I don’t write with and they definitely can’t jingle. These are my jewelry rules.
For a so-called fashion lover like myself, these self inflicted regulations are all kinds of wrong. Comfort is key to an extent, but who cares if your wrist makes a little sound? Won’t it only draw attention to that beautiful set of bangles? Isn’t that the point?

This brings us to the core of the issue at hand.
The reason I don’t wear these types of accessories is not because of the problems previously stated. Those are excuses I have developed and then convinced myself I actually believe. The truth is that I have no idea how to wear jewelry. Not a clue. Therefore, I choose the easy way out. Avoidance.

When I put on a piece of jewelry, aside from my simple everyday pieces, I never feel the love. I always find something wrong. Whether that be the color, shape, size, texture, whatever – it is never right. Seriously, just hearing the words Dannijo “Arm Party” makes me quiver. Yet somehow those sisters style them meticulously day in and day out. Maybe that’s why they invented those perfectly pre-mixed accessory packs – because there are so many other jewelry inept people like me!

With that being said, you can imagine the life changing experience I had when I not only found a piece of jewelry that I adore, but I found an ENTIRE COLLECTION of pieces that I am absolutely head over heels in love with. Yes, this is big. To top it off, it’s Thai. Surprised? Not really.

I would like to introduce you to Ek Thongprasert. The collection was born between the union of two Thai designers named Ek Thongprasert and Noon Passama. They both studied at various prestigious fine arts schools in Europe and then came back and joined together to create pure magic. The world loves them for it.

The collection consists of both geometric/linear style pieces as well as a more floral/baroque approach. But, this is where it gets really good. These large and colorful pieces of jewelry are made mostly out of SILICONE. Yes, breast implants, I know. But not only does this create a unique design it also means the product itself is very light. Yay for me, no strangulation issues.

I have yet to enjoy a baller enough moment in my life in which I can actually purchase a piece of this collection. Until now, I have merely been lucky enough the peruse the display cases at Club 21. But, I can assure you that when the day comes, and I promise you it will, that I get my first Ek Thongprasert necklace, it will be up on this blog in about 2.7 seconds.

If anyone wants to go halfsies on any item, please let me know. In the meantime, I’d love to hear what jewelry designers have stolen your heart.

Here are some Ek Thongprasert neck adornments to make your mouth water. Enjoy.

Ek Thongprasert-

Comments rock!

